Maybe politness will be the death…

So yesterday evening I went out with a friend for a few drinks.

Most of the night was nice, we chatted a drank. But she was a little late to meet me because she missed her bus and had to walk. So as you do, I was just sitting waiting for her on a bench by a bus stop and this guy comes up to me. He was porbably older than my father, which means he was probably in his mid to late fifties. So he asks me for a smoke and I’m like ‘sure’ I don’t mind giving people one cigarette if they ask for it nicely and all that jazz. At this point I’m expecting him to either walk away or wait for his bus or something, but no he sits down next to me. So I go on smoking and waiting for my friend. Then he starts up a conversation with me – that’s fine nothing wrong with having a nice conversation with an old man. But then he starts edging closer to me and I smell the alcohol on his breath and I’m just silently praying for my friend to get there faster.

It’s a pretty normal conversation at first, then he just says ‘can I impress you’ and I’m like what? what does that even mean, I mean who just asks that? Any ways in an attempt to be prolite I just nervious laugh and say ‘I don’t know’, because I have no idea what this guy is going to do. So he whips out his phone and starts showig me pictures of ‘his’ cars and videos of him in cars and at this point I’m considering just leaving and texting my friend to meet me somewhere else, because he’s basically sitting on top of me and I’m super uncomfortable. Fortunately she arrived a couple videos later and I escaped.

She didn’t recognise me at first, because she hasn’t seen me with my new super blonde hair before, so she was there for a few minutes looking around for me, but fortunately I had my contacts in, so I saw her and half ran over.

Any ways the rest of the night was pretty nice and normal.

We went to a bar and got some drinks, chatted about this and that. She gave me a pair of earrings she made, they looked like little cats and are super cute. I flirted with the bartender and got some money off of my drink. Then we went to this pop-up style bar in the town centre and got some mulled cider, I’ve never actually had it before, but it was good and chatted some more about our time in college and the drama that happened then.

We did head back sort of early, but she had Uni earlish the today so she wanted to get some sleep and all that jazz.

It was sort of weird walking around that late at night by myself. It’s not something I usually do. I mean I have, but it’s not something I do on a regular basis or anything.

Any ways me and my friend got onto the topic of cat callig and all that jazz. I don’t really mind it, I just tend to ignore it, but I also think that it’s a bit stupid. She was telling me about a time someone honked at her and her friend, then shouted at them and drove away. I mean what’s the point? It’s not like their going to turn around and shouted back, something like, ‘oh my god, I love that sound, I must have you now’. So I think it’s more for the person who does the cat called and who they’re with than it is the person they’re doing it to. I mean has anyone ever got someone from cat calling them?

Any ways I’m still trying to get my ethical application approved and my superivsor got a bit mad at me recently, because I didn’t send her the feedback from the ethics panel. I mean the feedback was sent to me in a series of emails, because they didn’t tell me everything wrong in one go for some reason, or even what was really wrong. She has been a help, so I’m hoping that the materials I have now are good enough, because I made most of the changes she suggested, there was some wording that didn’t make sense for my research so I changed it, but other than that, I’m conformed. Something I didn’t want to have to do, because I didn’t see the point, but now I’m just like ‘I need to get my study up and running or I won’t have enough data when the time comes to actually do my results and write my report. Honestly though I’m not too happy with my supervisor, since she never around when I need her, because she¬† always going places and then she said she was busy with something else and I was just like ‘bitch, it’s been a month, what the hell has taken you a month, it takes like 10 minutes to read through my materials, they are not long’ but of course I didn’t say any of that to her and now I’m just going to be stressed until I get the ok to re-apply, which will hopefully be tomorrow and not in another month of waiting and waiting and waiting and thinking about doing it all on my own or some shit.

Alright so that’s that rant like thing over.

Leave a Reply

