Hand over the pancakes or else…

So it’s pancake day!

Any you know what that means, tomorrow is Ash Wednesday and lent begins, not that I partake in lent or anything, but for those who do, today is a ‘big day’ – I suppose.

So here’s a little history about pancake day or Shrove Tuesday:

‘Shroving’ was a custom in which children sang or recited poetry in exchange for food or money. ‘Lent Crocking’ was one of the many customs of the day when children would pass from house to house asking for pancakes. If they weren’t given any broken crockery would be thrown at the door! Other customs and superstitions included the belief that the first three pancakes cooked were sacred. Each would be marked with a cross, then sprinkled with salt to ward off evil spirits, then set aside.

Unfortunately this year I couldn’t make my pancakes from scratch like usual, so me and my friend went a got some pancake mix and made that instead, but the pancakes where still good, although I think whisking the mix might have been a bad idea, because they had a lot of air in them when cooking.

Today has been quite a full day, well the afternoon has been, with my usual lectures and seminars, shopping for food and going to see that new film Kingsman.

I went with one of my films and it think it might become something of a regular thing, as we both like similar films and all that jazz. It’s always nice to have someone to go to the cinema with. The film itself. Well it was pretty good I think, alright there were a couple things that I could critic about it, but there so small that I’m just not going to bother and Samuel Jacksons’ voice, that gave me a little surprise when I heard it, but as per usual he was good. There was quite a few good actors in this film, so that made me think it was going to be alright when I was watching the trailer and worth seeing on the big screen and a lot of people seemed to agree with me, as the cinema was packed, I mean my friend got the last regular seat in the place. I honest did think it was going to be that popular, or I would have waited to go see it or turned up earlier or something, but it was all good and a good watch and a nice time.

Quotes/sayings of the day: There is nothing noble in being superior to your fellow man; true nobility is being superior to your former self. – Ernest Hemingway

Manners maketh man – William Horman

Leave a Reply

