Sun, sand and ant bites… With a touch of Magic

So I’ve been in Jamaica for two weeks. I was writing this diary/journal things, which I was going to post on here, but then I reconsidered.

So I’m giving you all a basic run down of the wonders of Jamaica and having spent a week with my grandparents and a week by the sea, with high temperatures, all above 30 – during the day at least. It was nice, apart from the incredibly itchy ant bites, at least I think I was bitten by ants, because unfortunately they were dropping out of the tree, I was using to shade myself from the mid day sun, although I still got a lovely tan and some pasty tan lines to show it, because with me, it’s less noticeably than white people, when I get a tan. But apart from that it was a wonderful trip. Lots of fruit, which was great. We stayed in Negril – by the sea side – in a hotel for a couple of nights, more to be by the sea and catch the sun, but they had fruit out for every meal and we were down there for the 4th of July, when they were celebrating and luckily enough the night before I had met this cute Spanish guy, after his mother – at least I think it was his mother – saw us playing uno, which is a game we basically go nowhere without, because we tend to play it when… waiting for food in restaurants and times like that. So I bonded with this Spanish family over Uno and me and the guy walk along the beach and had some fun at the 4th of July celebrations that were going on there, while the father did whatever the father does. But unfortunately they left the next day – short lived friendship. Right over in Jamaica they have pot holes which you could – if you wanted to – literally take baths in, I mean it, well this was on the mountain road from the airport to my Grandparents house, so maybe not everywhere…

So I was meant to be going to Church on one of the Sundays we were there and I’m not really religious, but I kind of enjoy Jamaican church, because it’s so lively and completely different from the English church I had to go to as I child. My grandparents are very religious, as it seems quite a few people I met over there are – which is nice and all that jazz. But I the end I only went to quire practice with the grandmother, before we went out shopping, to find gives for the friends. Which I properly spent my 4200 Jamaican dollars on, which might sound like a lot to some, but it’s not really as much as it may appear to be. It seems Jamaica was one of those poor countries that had to deal with inflations and all that nasty business – I’m glade I never lived in a country where that was happening, it’s doesn’t seems to… great. So I got the friends so small trinkets, although I’m not too sure who I’ll be seeing before I – hopefully – jet off to the other side of the country, but I got enough for everyone and since I remembered my friend liked them I got some cigars in Rum and Chocolate flavour, so I’m hoping pull them out on this camping trip we’ve been planning and surprise everyone… or just someone. I was going to get Rum, but then I had this sudden realisation of great truth, that I could probably buy it cheaper in the UK and still get the same (ish) stuff.

So it rained a little, when we were at Negril – I’m hoping I’m spelling that right, because I have this nagging feeling I’m not, but oh well – there was a few short lived thunder storms, that rolled off into the Ocean, even though inland at the grandparents place, they were hoping for rain, because the plants were dying of thirst. But during the storms I watched American TV, which I find has a lot – I mean a lot – more adverts about food, than British TV does, although quite a few of the channels were just news news all the time and there were a couple Spanish ones, which is nice for the Spanish speaking guests. But I did get introduced to a couple interesting shows and watched some trailers for some films I now want to see, so it wasn’t a bad thing for anything.

I also finished the 6 books that I took with me; Poison study, Magic study, Fire study – I have fallen in love with the study series ad the author and am now going to buy the two first books of two of their other series – Fire – which turned out to be the second book in a series, although thankfully the books aren’t linking in characters, but place that they are set, so it shouldn’t matter I read the second one first – A wizard of earth sea – which I thought I had seen the movie of, but after reading it I realised I was wrong -and last but not least Blood Promise – a book in the Vampire Academy series, that I have been working my way through, only 2 more books left. I’m a bit of a vampire fan, although I cannot read Twilight, literally, I tried and I couldn’t get past the first chapter, although I went to see the films, because I wanted to give it a shot and I think that it could have been well really good, but it was missing something or something like that, but the writing oh god it was… indescribably in a bad way – sorry to the author, but honestly I cannot understand how anyone could read that book let alone more that 1 of them, maybe the writing got… better later on and the first chapter or 1st book was just badly done – not that I’m an expert writer or anything… (and I also finished fifty shades).

While I was over there, I had the whole stranger in a strange place thing going on, which was nice – if you don’t know what I mean, I’m not sure how to explain it…

So here some pictures…

 

So yeah, that’s my holiday – more or less – in picture form, with all the pictures of me and the family taken out and a couple of shots here and there removed, because of blurriness. So as you can see, lots of fruit, which leads on to, I love Jamaican food, sure I don’t eat all that much, but over there I just wanted to sit around and eat all day – sometimes – especially some of the dishes the grandmother made and plantain, I could eat that by the barrel, I was seriously considering packing some up into my suitcase, but in the end I didn’t, mainly because we had already been stopping on the way into the country, because of the father or rather probably because of the brother, but I won’t get into that – only to say we did nothing wrong.

So this weekend I went to the Harry Potter studio tour, with a friend of mine, as she got tickets for her birthday, it was really fun and we stayed in Premier Inn over night. Although I’m almost certain one of the staff members was into my friend, but she failed to see it.

We had a lot of laughs, so it was a good trip. On the way there, we got stuck in this traffic jam and my friend – who’s driving – is looking out the window and goes, ‘oh hey look at that dog’ so I’m looking at this car, and not seeing a dog and then she goes ‘oh shit, it’s an old lady’ it was so funny – maybe sorta more had to be there thing – but trust me it was funny, but the whole trip was a bit like that, like she goes over to a hanger on this rail thing by the door of the room and goes ‘hey look, I’m  a coat’ I mean it’s like we’re scripted sometimes, although I often say people would pay to watch the sorta crazy shit we get up to sometimes.

But hey ho a great day and I tried butter beer for the first time, although it was a little underwhelming, not bad, although the cream left a bad taste in the mouth, just underwhelming, maybe because they’re drinking it all the time, like it’s really amazing, is why I thought it would taste more… extraordinary.

Quote/saying of the day (or rather last couple weeks): I love the feeling of being anonymous in a city I’ve never been to before.

Leave a Reply

