Eyes closed or open I can’t tell… It’s all History

So I had this dream last night, where I was sitting in an old house – that I used to live in way back when. I was staring out the window and thinking about something or other, I think I was talking to myself – I do that see, in real life. And then suddenly it started to snow and it was really light at first, but then suddenly the world outside the window turned white and it was proper deep snow, like the kind we used to get here, according to the books and the elderly people. I think it was because I’ve been thinking about snow all week, because people have been saying it was going to snow by the end of the week, although as far as I can tell they were wrong, at least I haven’t had any snow around here, it’s rather spring-ish here actually.

Snowdrops and dandelions and all the other such things that signify the end of the winter months and the start of the weather ones. Most people would thinking that March might be a winter month, but it isn’t it’s Spring, at least in the UK, be maybe we’re just a little weird over here or something, but what the hell, I’m a Spring baby so I’m happy with the weirdness.

I myself used to have a little problem with dreams, you see I always dream in the third person, which means I always know when I’m dreaming – no one can try and use inception on me, yay! – but once out of the dream that’s when the problem crops up, because of the way I dream well it looks exactly like my memories. I mean spooky similar – yes that does mean I remember in the third person, don’t ask me how that works it just does. But I used to have a little problem working out if what I had dreamt was a dream or a memory, it was kind of frustrating, as most of the time the dreams would be completely ordinary things and involve other people, which lead to a couple – hundred – awkward conversations with people, or me waking up thinking it was one day or I had to do something and it wasn’t. Not that I was any good at telling what day it was. My sense of time was a little messed up back then as well – although it’s not exactly super great now – it wasn’t like I couldn’t tell the time, nothing like that. More like I couldn’t measure it by myself and if you asked me about something that happened a couple years ago, it would be like a couple months, maybe even days in my mind. Everything was squished together in piles of events and to my mind they all – nearly – happened at the same time, it was seriously confusing at times, but I worked around it and always gave vague answers to things concerning such things are times and dates. Although I took history back then – bad move – I could remember everything but the date of when things happened and you kind of need that to do well in history, but I did alright, I wasn’t expecting much. If you don’t expect too much you can’t get disappointed right?

Not the grands and most original philosophy I know, but what the hell, in some cases you’ve just got to roll with the punches or at least try and dodge them so you don’t get smacked in the face.

So I hear this a while ago and forgot about it until now. I like it, but it’s not really a masterpiece or anything. But somehow I can’t seem to stop listening to it – or something like that.

Leave a Reply

